New Zealand Rail Maps Volumes

This section of the New Zealand Rail Maps website is focused on the Volumes of the maps project. The Volumes are the collections of map images that have been produced by the project for use on computers or handheld devices when navigating a particular section of a volume. The New Zealand Rail Maps project divides the 6000 km of historical and present rail corridor into 12 volumes, each of about 500 km. The table below lists how these volumes are made up from different sections of the 6000 km of corridors. The vast majority of this is NZR or Kiwirail corridor but a small mileage of private lines of significant length are also included in the maps. There are also a few industrial tramways covered in places but these lines are not a significant focus of the project and are generally only included when they are marked on NZMS1 maps or similar.

The table shows which corridors or sections of corridor have a page that has been published on this website. The Volume will have a link to its own article if an article has been produced for that Volume, which occurs when one or more sections of corridor in that Volume have had a full set of maps produced. There is also a link from each Line to the Volume article if a full set of maps has been produced for that Line.

Volume 1 – Total 500 kmNorth Auckland Line
Bay of Islands Vintage Railway
298 km
Okaihau Branch / Rangiahua Extension (estimate)60 km
Dargaville / Kaihu Branches80 km
Onerahi Branch6 km
Riverhead Branch5 km
Newmarket Branch3 km
Onehunga Branch3 km
North Island Main Trunk from 635 to 680 km45 km
Volume 2 – Total 501 kmNorth Island Main Trunk from 223 to 634.5 km411 km
East Coast Main Trunk from 0 to 7 km7 km
Mission Bush Branch17 km
Waiuku Branch8 km
Glen Afton Branch14 km
Wilton Collieries line11 km
Raetihi Branch14 km
Cambridge Branch19 km
Volume 3 – Total 518 kmEast Coast Main Trunk from 7 to 182 km176 km
Thames Branch75 km
Paeroa – Apata60 km
Kinleith Branch65 km
Rotorua Branch51 km
Murupara Branch58 km
Taneatua Branch26 km
Mount Maunganui Branch7 km
Volume 4 – Total 497 kmNorth Island Main Trunk from 148.5 to 222.5 km74 km
Marton New Plymouth Line212 km
Stratford Okahukura Line143 km
Waitara Branch7 km
Egmont Quarry branch (estimate)10 km
Opunake / Kapuni Branch36 km
Whanganui Branch5 km
Castlecliff Branch6 km
Taonui Branch4 km
Volume 5 – Total 493 kmPalmerston North Gisborne Line from 7 to 391 km385 km
Moutohora Branch78 km
Ngatapa Branch (estimate)22 km
Napier Port Branch5 km
Wairarapa Line from 168.5 to 171.5 km (Woodville)3 km
Volume 6 – Total 456 kmNorth Island Main Trunk from 0 to 148 km148 km
Palmerston North Gisborne Line from 0 to 6 km6 km
Wairarapa Line from 0 to 168 km168 km
Foxton Branch31 km
Palmerston North Central Section (estimate)10 km
Greytown Branch5 km
Rimutaka Incline Section40 km
Johnsonville Branch11 km
Johnsonville-Tawa Section6 km
Melling Branch3 km
Western Hutt Section19 km
Gracefield Branch4 km
Hutt Park Railway3 km
Te Aro Branch2 km
Volume 7 – Total 513 kmStillwater Westport Line136 km
Seddonville Branch48 km
Cape Foulwind Branch (estimate)10 km
Conns Creek Branch3 km
Midland Line from 3 to 212 km210 km
Hokitika/Ross Branch62 km
Rewanui Branch13 km
Rapahoe Branch4 km
Blackball/Roa Branch8 km
Whitecliffs Branch19 km
Volume 8 – Total 500 kmNelson Section110 km
Main North Line from 33.5 to 348 km315 km
Mendip Section (estimate)9 km
Waiau Branch66 km
Volume 9 – Total 515 kmMain North Line from 0 to 33 km33 km
Sockburn-Styx Corridor (estimate)8 km
Stewarts Gully Section4 km
Oxford Branch (estimate)55 km
Eyreton Branch33 km
Main South Line from 0 to 165 km165 km
Midland Line from 0 to 2 km2 km
Little River Branch37 km
Southbridge Branch41 km
Methven Branch36 km
Springburn Branch43 km
Fairlie Branch58 km
Volume 10 – Total 498 kmMain South Line from 165.5 to 432 km267 km
Waimate / Waihaorunga Branch13 km
Kurow / Hakataramea Branch60 km
Ngapara Branch24 km
Tokarahi Branch19 km
Moeraki Branch3 km
Shag Point lines (estimate)5 km
Dunback Branch14 km
Makareao Branch5 km
Port Chalmers Branch2 km
Fernhill Branch3 km
Walton Park Branch4 km
Taieri Branch4 km
Taieri Gorge Railway60 km
Outram Branch15 km
Volume 11 – Total 504 kmMain South Line from 433 to 601 km168 km
Roxburgh Branch95 km
Taratu Coal Railway (estimate)15 km
Catlins River Branch69 km
Tapanui Branch42 km
Waikaka Branch21 km
Glenham Branch15 km
Bluff Branch25 km
Seaward Bush Branch54 km
Volume 12 – Total 554 kmKingston Branch140 km
Hedgehope Branch21 km
Waimea Plains Railway59 km
Mossburn Branch17 km
Waikaia Branch22 km
Wairio Branch55 km
Ohai Railway Board line19 km
Tuatapere / Orawia Branch71 km
Otago Central Rail Trail / Cromwell Gorge Section172 km
GRAND TOTAL approximate(some sections not part of NZR)6000 km

This page was last updated on 2023-09-29. The volume definitions listed are current as of that date and supersede any other published definitions.